Reviews The Optimist

Wan ChaiSpanish$$$$
Excellent
5.0/6
293 Reviews
The Optimist Hong Kong image 1
The Optimist Hong Kong image 2
The Optimist Hong Kong image 3
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners

293 The Optimist Reviews

Read reviews about The Optimist here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at The Optimist. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about The Optimist.

Excellent
5.0/6
293 Reviews
Waiting time:Exceptionally good
Service:Great
Food:Outstanding
Atmosphere:Excellent
Noise levels:Average
Value for money:Good value
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
Vanessa L.2 months ago · 1 review

Incredible food, lovely environment and staff are very attentive. Food is served at perfect pace to ensure efficient service, but also to allow you to enjoy each dish. Can’t wait to return!

"Excellent"
6/6
Peter L.3 months ago · 3 reviews

Great place for brunch or lunch with an amazing spread of cold cuts cheese and salad buffet and a la carte mains.

"Excellent"
6/6
CT G.3 months ago · 2 reviews

Our visit was very pleasant, the staffs are very friendly and they even given our 2yo a complimentary ice cream!!! a family friendly restaurant and also great for catch up!

"Excellent"
6/6
Rachel W.5 months ago · 1 review

Love the buffet and service - the selection is wonderful and for such good value!

"Excellent"
6/6
Alan C.a year ago · 8 reviews

It's extremely rare to find a restaurant that can scores extremely high marks in its ambience, character, overall service, and of course, it's culinary experience. The Optimist is the one I found in HK. I just spent 2 weeks in the Iberian Penisula few months ago, having a whale of a time enjoying the best the Spaniards and the Portuguese can offer. Then again, The Optimist offers the same and more in a much refined fashion. I'm not going to spoil your surprise describing all the goodies in the tasting Manu we tried, suffice it to say, every single course is a gem. The service? It's rare that I gave 200% tips as acknowledgement, but the entire staff deserves it.

"Great"
5/6
Irina H.a year ago · 3 reviews

I enjoyed the atmosphere at The Optimist - subdued lighting, not very noisy, great smoky smell from their grill and fairly attentive service. I had a few small dishes with my friends -the Ham croquettes, the Broken eggs, the Calamari, the Tuna tartar - which I found very tasty, very well executed. The deserts were nice too - my favourite was the charcoal grilled pineapple ("La pina") which came with delicious coconut ice cream. I understand that the charcoal grilled meat dishes are their signature - I haven't had the chance to taste them on this occasion but I hope I will do so in the future. I simply loved their cocktails (we didn't even look at the wine list) and tried 4 or 5 between us. My favourite was the "Spritz Me Up" - a mix of Aperol and prosecco with lime juice, coconut and vermouth - really refreshing during summer time. I would love to go back.

"Excellent"
6/6
Natalie D.a year ago · 2 reviews

Sunday Brunch was the best I have had. The semi buffet was excellent, fresh and tasty and the hot food they brought out was amazing. Lots of small dishes for us all to try, plenty for a large group. After the semi buffet we ordered a few dishes off the menu. I ordered the flank steak (which I would highly recommend). Food was excellent quality and the service was just as good. We went for a friends Birthday in July and had a great time. I would highly recommend trying this place out. I will definitely be going back again, in fact I have already booked to treat my dad for his birthday!!

"Excellent"
6/6
Valters K.a year ago · 1 review

Great cuisine with Spanish / Mediterranean style food, a good choice of wine. Nice ambiance - really enjoyable experience. Most recommended for dining out with no hurry. Very kind, fast and professional service. You really feel welcome at The Optimist. Reservation recommended as it gets busy later evening.

"Excellent"
6/6
Kit W.a year ago · 1 review

Really loved it at The Optimist for my sister's Birthday. The staff were so accommodating and had no issue about me bringing my own cake. The food is amazing and all the girls had never been. They all said they would definitely return

"Great"
5/6
Pierre M.a year ago · 1 review

We had a great time at The Optimist for a quick lunch with the family. The staff was great and caring, the food was good and the set lunch of good value. The music could have been turned down a little for a more cosy atmosphere. I recommend the place.