Reviews La Paloma

Sai Ying PunSpanish, Mediterranean, European$$$$
Excellent
5.1/6
215 Reviews
La Paloma Hong Kong image 1
La Paloma Hong Kong image 2
La Paloma Hong Kong image 3
Free and fast bookingEasily reserve a table in seconds
Happy customersMore than 100 million full and satisfied diners

215 La Paloma Reviews

Read reviews about La Paloma here! All reviews have been written by Quandoo users that have already booked and eaten at La Paloma. We try to be as transparent as possible by providing you with real guest experiences. Find out what other diners are saying about La Paloma.

Excellent
5.1/6
215 Reviews
Waiting time:Exceptionally good
Noise levels:Pleasant
Food:Great
Service:Great
Atmosphere:Pleasant
Value for money:Good value
Sort by:Most useful
  • Most useful
  • Highest rated
  • Most recent
"Excellent"
6/6
Jessi N.2 months ago · 1 review

I booked La Paloma for my best friend's birthday, the tapas selection they had was wonderful and they did a wonderful job with the birthday dessert and made the overall meal amazing!

"Excellent"
6/6
Alex C.4 months ago · 3 reviews

Nice food and experience and highly recommend to everyone especially for party. Good staff as well. Had a good time there! Will visit again! :)

"Excellent"
6/6
Helena L.4 months ago · 1 review

great food and ambience! however, it was not made clear that we cant use other offers with happy hour. They make a great birthday dessert platter.

"Excellent"
6/6
Gary C.5 months ago · 4 reviews

excellent service and food. Cheese platter and chorizo in sherry for starter followed by Carne Wagyu, nicely prepared and then paella val. Dishes were served timely, as it should be, so our table was no cluttered with dishes.

"Bad"
2/6
Anthony A.2 years ago · 1 review

From the moment I received a phone call from La Paloma to confirm my reservation I knew my experience wasn't going to be a good one. In hindsight, I should have just cancelled the reservation then but I had promised my girlfriend Spanish food for dinner. The greeting upon arriving at the restaurant was cold. Felt like we were an inconvenience. Menus were thrown in front of us and the waitress immediately left. After going through the drinks list we had to call the waitress over to order. Looked like such an effort for her to come over and take our drinks order. Ordered a glass of red and the Fino Fino Philipino cocktail. The wine was barely drinkable and despite the promise of passionfruit, lime, mint, rum and cava I was served a small glass full of ice and a cheap tasting rum. Not a single hint of passionfruit, lime or mint. Can't complain about the food except that it is a bit pricey considering the portion sizes and ingredients used. Needless to say we won't be back or recommending La Paloma which is a pity since the decor is great and the food has promise. Worst part is that they don't charge service which to me should mean that waiters are very enthusiastic to look after you in exchange for a good tip.

"Excellent"
6/6
Martin F.2 years ago · 1 review

Saturday evening dinner experience - full restaurant with all tables busy all the time (was there from 7pm to 10pm). Yet service fluent and fast, something which is hard to get even in very upscale and expensive places. Restaurant manager Ricky constantly checking among tables if everything is all right and waiter/waitress were next to my table frequently, discreetly and politely. Food - actually when leaving, the chef personally told me "I have noticed you eat a lot!", to which only one answer existed - because the food is superb! All kinds of tapas - tasty, attractive presentation, fresh. Try stuffed baby squids, mamma's meatballs, patatas bravas, fried escalops with bechamel, ... and of couse paella in few different variations) - all tasty and fresh. Nice and decent-priced spanish wine list - can choose from quite local spanish producers as well as from bigger names (e.g. Alvara Palacios) Overall - will repeat for sure and will share with friends. Reservation recommended on busy Friday/weekend nights.

"Good"
4/6
Del C.a year ago · 1 review

My second time at La Paloma. The first was with friends and we were busy talking we hardly notice much but the food was good so I thought I’ll come back with my husband and son. I originally booked for 6 during CNY but our guest had to unfortunately cancel due to an illness in the family. We decided to go ahead and very happy that we did. Had the Wagyu for my son and a Paella with Iberico Pork and wild mushroom for us. It was excellent. We had a wonderful dinner here. Really enjoyed it. The service could not be faulted and everyone who attended to us were very pleasant. We will be back.

"Great"
5/6
Angela R.2 years ago · 1 review

La Paloma's interior is spacious, and cozy. Its staff are attentive, although they do have difficulties addressing requests during peak hours. We had the weekend brunch, and it was definitely a steal at HK$250 per person. The cochinillo was really tender, and tasty, and the skin was stayed crunchy beyond the expected time. Paella was also good, though I would have been happier if there were slices of hard boiled eggs. The tapas were very tasty, but I found the bravas to be the best.

"Bad"
2/6
Vivian L.2 years ago · 1 review

3 things make up a diner's restaurant experience - the food, the environment and the people (the staff). It majorly failed on the staff portion: the receptionist was noexistent then was less than enthusiastic to show us to our seating and the servers did not know what their own menu was (there was an award winning dish which 2 of the staff seem to not know existed. Least impressive of all was when they tried to offer us a smaller portion of the paella as it would have been free based on the super monday buy-1-get-1-free deal which is utterly unbelievable. The food itself was ok, we tried 3 tapas and 2 mains and the dish of the night was probably the paella. The award winning pork dish was impressively juicy, but extremely fatty with nothing acidic to cut thru the richness. The paella was delicious but abit too salty. We've always loved Fofo by el Willy, but we're not impressed by what we saw at La Paloma, we might as well just go back to Fofo / go elsewhere.

"Great"
5/6
Valerie B.4 months ago · 6 reviews

Thank you for helping me and my 5 companions celebrate my husband's birthday! The churros with sparklers and the polaroid pic + birthday card was an unexpected friendly touch that you would not expect in Hong Kong. Chef's menu: a few hits and misses. Hits: wagyu cannelloni, crab cake slider, croquette something or other. Misses: paella - both seafood and veggie versions! What is wrong with this dish? I think there is soy sauce in it? Anyway, it's really low on the protein / veg and wayyy too high on the funny tasting rice. Have tried the chicken version before and it was equally disappointing...please, oh please fix. As this is the end of the meal, it kinda leaves you with, literally, a bad taste in your mouth!